Pitcairn Island

The Pitcairn Islands are a group of four small islands situated between latitudes 23 and 26 degrees South and longitudes 124 and 131 degrees West in the South Pacific Ocean, about 2,000 km southeast of Tahiti and 1,900 km west of Easter Island. The group comprises of Pitcairn Island (25 degrees 04 minutes South, 130 degrees 06 minutes West) and three uninhabited islands: Oeno (120 km northwest of Pitcairn), Henderson (200 km east-northeast of Pitcairn) and Ducie (472 km east of Pitcairn). Pitcairn itself is a high volcanic island of 450 ha with lava cliffs and rugged hills rising to a peak at 335 m. Henderson, the largest island in the group with an area of 3,700 ha, is a raised limestone atoll which rises to 33 m. Oeno (65 ha) and Ducie (70 ha) are both low coral atolls with maximum elevations of about 4 meters.

Further Reading